Skip to Content


  Page 1 of 9  Next Page »
May 6, 2019

HPHY Welcomes New Anatomy Tool

Human Physiology installed a brand new state-of-the-art 3D Anatomy table to it’s teaching repertoire this year. Welcome to the world’s first virtual dissection table from Anatomage.

“The $80,000 table — made by Anatomage and billed as the world’s first virtual dissection table — was gifted to the department last fall by UO alumnus Samuel Blackwell, a retired Redmond physical therapist, and his wife, Linda. The table was installed in December into the human physiology tutorial room in the lower level of the science library.”

Read the full article about the new dissection table in the Around the O article here:

February 5, 2019

HPHY Supports the Governor’s Food Drive Through the Month of February

During the month of February, Human Physiology is supporting the Oregon Governor’s Food Drive.

Here are a few ways you can help!

1.       Donate online!
2.      FILL THE BARREL –  drop a donation in the barrel and help us fill it up! The barrel is located in the main office mail room until the end of February.
3.      Payroll deduction (UO Employees only):
4.      Cash donations also accepted. See Angie in 176 Esslinger and get a special treat!

Thank you for considering a donation. For every $10 donated, Food For Lane County can provide 30 meals for those in need. Any amount donated really does help!

December 7, 2018

Dec. 12 Quack Chats: “The ‘Hole’ Story of Cardiovascular Physiology & Medicine”

The human heart is a marvel of biological engineering that keeps us healthy and alive, but it’s not without its imperfections. One third of the population has a little-known, minor heart condition: A tiny hole known as a patent foramen ovale or PFO. Andrew Lovering, a professor in the Department of Human Physiology,  has been studying the feature for the last 15 years.

Dr. Lovering will explore this heart condition in next week’s Dec. 12 pub talk, “The ‘Hole’ Story of Cardiovascular Physiology & Medicine,” at the Downtown Athletic Club’s Ax Billy Grill starting at 6 p.m. Admission is free.

November 8, 2018

Come home to Oregon

Come and join us in the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

Human Physiology is hiring 2 Assistant, Associate or Full Professors with research interests in Motor Control, Biomechanics, and/or Neurophysiology. Application deadline is December 3rd.

Additionally, our office is hiring an Undergraduate Coordinator that will act as the primary support person for our undergraduate program. Position closes December 17th.


October 12, 2018

Dr. Andy Lovering Dives into Croatia for Research Grant

While some of us might have to Google where in the world Croatia is, Dr. Andy Lovering is taking his Fulbright Program funds and researching prevention of respiratory diseases by studying breath hold divers in this small country along the Adriatic sea. 


KMTR News coverage:

You can follow Dr. Lovering’s journey by following him on Twitter or read more about his research on his website.

October 10, 2018

O’Day Fellowship Recipients Working Hard in the Lab and in the Virtual World

Undergraduate students Kieley Trempy and Chaucie Edwards spent their summer with mentors & Graduate Students Kate Spitzley and Matt Ely.

Read more about their research in this feature:

October 3, 2018

Science Pub Talk with Dr. Ian Greenhouse

Please join us to celebrate the launch of the Center for Translational Neuroscience with a Science Pub Talk!

August 15, 2018

Summer News Blast

There is never a dull moment in Human Physiology. Summertime is no exception!

Check out these hardworking students and their outstanding accomplishments this Summer…

Cameron Colbert: VPRI Undergraduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: Hemodynamics of Post-Exercise and Post-Passive Heat Stress Recovery

Elise Kronquist: VPRI Undergraduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: Examining the Impact of Pyridoxamine on Oxidative Stress in the Middle Cerebral Artery in a Mouse Model

Chaucie Edwards: O-Day Undergraduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: Effect of Histamine on Post-Exercise Capillary Permeability

Matthew Ely: O-Day Graduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: Effect of Histamine on Post-Exercise Capillary Permeability

Kieley Trempy: O-Day Undergraduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: The Role of Handedness in Visuoproprioceptive Tasks

Kate Spitzley: O-Day Graduate Fellowship recipient for work on project: The Role of Handedness in Visuoproprioceptive Tasks

Anna TassiaGilman Scholarship recipient for study abroad travel to Italy in Fall term

Katie Rainsberger: All-Academic Honors from the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA)

Evan Day: Best Podium Presentation at the Northwest Biomechanics Symposium for Modulation of Non-Linear Stiffness in the Foot-Shoe Complex Across Running Speeds

Seth Donahue: Finalist in the Doctoral Student Competition at the American Society of Biomechanics Conference for Estimating Gait Events and Locomotion State with a Beta-Process Vector Auto Regressive Hidden Markov Model

CONGRATS to all these students, keep up the great work!



June 15, 2018

HPHY Noteworthy News


Graduation is coming! The Human Physiology graduation ceremony is taking place on Monday June 18th, 2018 at 12:30 pm behind the Knight Law School on the East lawn. It’s gonna be warm, be sure to bring water & some sunscreen to cheer on the graduates.




Hats off also to 2 faculty members that have been promoted. Dr. Anita Christie was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. Dr. Andy Lovering was promoted to Full Professor. CONGRATULATIONS!! Check out the announcement to see the full list of all promotions




Dr. Damien Callahan chimes in on the tough question  “Does More Muscle Mass Burn More Calories?”





Congratulations to Dr. Ashley Walker as one of the first recipients of the UO-OHSU seed funding for this new collaboration.


May 23, 2018

3 HPHY students selected as 25 Ducks awardees

Every year the University of Oregon Alumni Center and the Emerald Media Group selects 25 outstanding students that represent impressive leadership, innovation and passion.

These 25 Ducks represent a variety of backgrounds, but all stand out for their enthusiasm, ambition and passion.

We are proud that 3 Human Physiology Undergraduates were bestowed this honor. Congratulations!


  Page 1 of 9  Next Page »