Skip to Content

Featured News

February 8, 2017

BSSC experts chime in on Tom Brady’s football future

Tom Brady may have his 5th Super Bowl ring, but how many more are in his future? HPHY Associate Professor and BSSC Director Mike Hahn and PhD student Jake Hinkel-Lipsker provide their insight in this Reuters article on the oldest starting Quarterback in the NFL.

January 9, 2017

Associate Professor Mike Hahn Featured In Expert Panel For WalletHub Article

WalletHub, a financial “fitness” website, recently published their list of the best and worst cities for an active lifestyle. HPHY Associate Professor and BSSC Director Mike Hahn lent his expert advice on introducing positive changes.

Full article here:

Link to Mike’s advice:



November 22, 2016

HPHY Monetary Awards 2015/2016

Congratulations to these faculty, graduate and undergraduate 2015/2016 award winners! A total of $484,677 has been awarded to those in Human Physiology.


  • Andrew Lovering – NASA
  • Carrie McCurdy – National Institutes of Health
  • Sierra Dawson – 2016 UO Teaching Excellence Fellowship
  • Christopher Minson – UO Incubating Interdisciplinary Initiative Award

Graduate students:

  • JJ Hannigan – International Society of Biomechanics Travel Grant
  • Vienna Brunt – American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship
  • Vienna Brunt – American Physiological Society Cardiovascular Section
  • Brett Ely – American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship
  • Vienna Brunt – Ursula (Sue) Moshberger Scholarship
  • Brett Ely – Evonuk Fellowship in Environmental and Stress Physiology
  • Brett Ely – Ursula (Sue) Moshberger Scholarship
  • JJ Hannigan – McCue Fellowship for Human Performance and Development
  • JJ Hannigan – Jan Broekhoff Graduate Scholarship
  • Austin Hocker – HPHY Graduate Teaching Award
  • Bryson Nakamura – Evonuk Memorial Graduate Fellowship
  • Shannon Pomeroy – Ursula (Sue) Moshberger Scholarship

Undergraduate students:

  • Taylor Eymann – ACSMNW Undergraduate Thematic Poster Award
  • Alysia Lovemark – ACSMNW “Student Bowl” Champions
  • Jared Steele – ACSMNW “Student Bowl” Champions
  • Keeley Debar – ACSMNW “Student Bowl” Champions
  • Teale Andreason – HPHY Sue Grigsby Scholarship
  • Antonio Barrera – HPHY Physiology TA of the Year
  • Varneet Brar – HPHY Sue Grigsby Scholarship
  • Varneet Brar – Ursula (Sue) Moshberger Scholarship
  • Varneet Brar – Henry V. Howe Scholarship
  • Lindan Comrada – McNair Scholarship
  • Mai’ana Feuerborn – UO Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program Mini-grant Award
  • David Gallacher – Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program
  • David Gallacher – HPHY Shapiro Scholarship
  • Sarianne Harris – UO Undergraduate Research Award
  • Sarianne Harris – Clark Honors College
  • Alyssa Hardin – HPHY Sue Grigsby Scholarship
  • Wendy Peters – Ursula (Sue) Moshberger Scholarship
  • Jared Steele – Stephanie Jackson Human Anatomy TA of the Year
  • Jared Steele – Anatomy TA of the Year
  • Jessica Walker – HPHY Sue Grigsby Scholarship
  • Jonathan Wallace – Centurian Award
  • Jonathan Wallace – Edward C Sargent Scholarship
  • Jonathan Wallace – Dunbar Scholarship
  • Jonathan Wallace – Honors College Scholarship
  • Jonathan Wallace – Presidential Scholarship
  • Austin Thompson – HPHY Fieldman Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Hao Tan – HPHY Shapiro Scholarship
October 18, 2016

HPHY Graduate climbs her way into Science Journal

HPHY Alumni Lauren Earthman (’15) participated in an altitude effects study in Bolivia during her Freshman year. Results from that study have been featured in the international weekly science journal, Science from the American Association for the Advancement of Research.

Check out the full article here:

September 28, 2016

Seminar Series for Fall 2016 announced

The department hosts a yearlong seminar series that explores various topics from obesity, exercise science, bio-mechanics and other Human Physiology related topics.

Four guest speakers are slated every two weeks for the fall term visiting from around the country. This term the department is also having graduate student speakers present during the off weeks. Thurman Lockhart, PhD, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, Arizona State University will be the first guest speaker on Oct. 7th, presenting “Postural Stability and Falls in Advanced Parkinson’s Disease Patients”.

All seminars are free and will take place Fridays at 11 a.m. in McKenzie Hall Room 221.

Human physiology graduate students are required to attend, however the general public is also welcome.

The full schedule is available on our website.

August 23, 2016

PhD Candidate Matt Ely’s study gets a run on Runner’s World

Jog on over to and check out the featured article from HPHY PhD student Matt Ely. His study on Antihistamines and its effects on muscle soreness are reported after being published in the Journal of Applied Physiology.

Nice job Matt!

August 11, 2016

Check out these new features!

Human Physiology is excited to announce some new features on the website. Check out these new permanent sections on the website.

Main Menu: Department History This link gives you an inside look on how the department evolved throughout the years

Resources: In Vivo Alumni Newsletter Archive The alumni newsletter that ran from 2004-2007. Check out the archived issues

Resources: Now Hiring Open Positions This new link will be updated with all positions currently hiring within the department

June 8, 2016

New Singer research facility will blossom in Hayward Field expansion

Exciting news circulated around Human Physiology today when it was announced that Dr. Ken & Kenda Singer have provided a gift of $1.5 million dollars to establish a new research facility within the Hayward Field expansion project. More details can be found in the Around the O article and YouTube video below.

AroundtheO News Article

May 16, 2016

Faculty member Jon Runyeon awarded Distinguished Teaching Award

Runyeon family

Jon Runyoen with wife Alissa and son Jack

Congratulations to Human Physiology Instructor Jon Runyeon on winning the Ersted Award for Specialized Pedagogy.

The Ersted Award for Specialized Pedagogy recognizes faculty members early in their careers who have demonstrated exceptional abilities to induce students to reason and who have expertise in a particular area of teaching.

Distinguished Teaching Award presentation and Reception

The Human Physiology department has no shortage of award winners within the department. Other awards of distinction include The Williams Fellowship 2015, Dr. John Halliwill; Ersted Distinguished Teaching Award 2008, Susan Verscheure;  Fund for Faculty Excellence, 2013 Andy Lovering, 2009 Li-Shan Chou, 2008 John Halliwill, 2007 Chris Minson.


Around the O featured article:


For further information regarding Academic Affairs awards:


May 10, 2016

New Allen Price Science Commons and Research Library taking shape

Take a sneak peak with Margaret Bean, Head of the University of Oregon’s Science Libraries. The new space will feature some exciting new upgrades such as a new maker space with 3D printers, a visualization lab and group study rooms. A new study room for Human Physiology students is already available in the remodeled space of the existing library.

The $16.75 Million dollar project is expected to be completed by Fall 2016.